Nitish Kumar wins Bihar ‘Floor Test’ with 129 Votes; 5 RJD MLAs cross party lines

RNS: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar emerged triumphant in the state’s floor test on Monday with 129 votes in his favor. The opposition, spearheaded by the RJD, leaves the legislative chamber prior to the vote, marking a clear division in the assembly. Notably, Nitish Kumar received the votes of at least five RJD MLAs who defected.

INDIA coalition leader Nitish Kumar dissolved his partnership with the RJD on January 28, and rejoined the NDA.

JDU has 44 MLAs and the BJP 77 in the 243-member House. The NDA also comprises four MLAs from Jitan Ram Manjhi’s HAM.

Addressing the legislature following the vote, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar emphasized the significant strides Bihar has made under his leadership since assuming office in 2005. He juxtaposed his administration’s performance with the tenure of Tejashwi Yadav’s parents, highlighting a period marred by communal discord. Kumar asserted that under his governance, such tensions had significantly diminished.

Taking a direct swipe at Tejashwi Yadav, his erstwhile deputy, Nitish Kumar questioned the efficacy of the administration led by Yadav’s parents, Lalu Prasad and Rabri Dev. He painted a stark picture of Bihar’s condition during their rule, challenging the adequacy of infrastructure and safety measures. Kumar insinuated that the RJD leadership was primarily concerned with personal gains.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *