Modi elected NDA leader, set for historic 3rd term as Prime Minister

New Delhi: The stage is set for Narendra Modi’s historic third consecutive term as Prime Minister. Modi was elected as the leader of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Modi has also been elected as the leader of BJP in Lok Sabha, and BJP parliamentary party on Friday.

Modi is a central figure in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is now poised to continue his leadership. Securing a third term would place Modi in an elite group alongside Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

Despite the BJP winning 240 seats—32 seats short of the 272 majority needed—Modi will rely on the support of coalition partners to form the government.

Key allies in the coalition include the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) with 16 seats, Janata Dal United (JDU) with 12 seats, Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena faction with 7 seats, and Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas with 5 seats.

Addressing the newly elected members of the NDA, Modi remarked, “This alliance is a reflection of the spirit and soul of India.” He highlighted the unprecedented success of the pre-poll alliance, stating, “Pre-poll alliance has never been so successful as it happened with NDA.”

Outlining his vision for the upcoming term, the soon-to-be prime minister emphasised, “I say with a lot of responsibility, good governance, development, quality of life among people, and the reduction of government interference in the lives of the middle and upper-middle class will be our goals.” Concluding his address, Modi pledged, “We will fulfil the dream of Viksit Bharat.”

India now awaits the formal establishment of the new government, with Modi’s leadership continuing to steer the nation towards his envisioned goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *