Modi elected as NDA Parliamentary leader

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi was unanimously elected leader of the NDA (National Democratic Alliance – led by BJP), the decision was taken in a meeting of NDA’s newly elected MPs and senior leaders held at Parliament’s Central Hall at New Delhi on Saturday.

Modi is elected the leader of the parliamentary party of 353 MPs unanimously, announced BJP president Amit Shah. Top alliance leaders, including JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar, Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray and Akali Dal’s Parkash Singh Badal, extended their party’s support after Modi was elected as the leader of the BJP parliamentary party at first. Along with other alliance leaders, senior BJP leaders L K Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi were also present there.

Shiromani Akali Dal leader Prakash Singh Badal proposed Modi’s name as the leader of NDA and JDU leader Nitish Kumar, Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray and Lok Janshakti Party leader Ram Vilas Paswan and AIADMK leader EK Palaniswami endorsed the proposal.

Earlier, Modi was unanimously elected as the leader of BJP parliamentary party. BJP President Amit Shah proposed his name and Rajnath Singh seconded it. Shah said, that 353 Lok Sabha members have extended their support to Modi.

Addressing the NDA leaders in Central Hall of the Parliament, Modi said, people have accepted NDA because of its work. He said, the nation rewards hard work and honesty and it is the strength of this country. Modi added: “a massive mandate increases responsibility and NDA is beginning a new journey from today. He said, Energy and synergy are the two main features of the NDA and the parties must walk shoulder-to-shoulder.”

Modi expressed happiness that for the first time in Independent India, such a large number of women MPs are sitting in the Parliament and this has been made possible due to women power.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *