Former IAS, IPS including 6 Congress-JMM MLAs join BJP

RNS: Just before the Jharkhand assembly elections, the Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have suffered a severe blow.

Former JPCC president and two times MLA from Lohardaga Sukhdeo Bhagat, four times Congress MLA from Barhi Manoj Kumar Yadav, JMM legislator from Baharagora Kunal Sarangi and rebel JMM MLA from Mandu Jai Prakash Bhai Patel joined the BJP on Wednesday.

Three times MLA from Bhawnathpur Bhanu Pratap Shahi, who too joined the BJP, announced the merger of his party Navjawan Sangharsh Morcha with BJP. Apart from lawmakers, five ex-bureaucrats and former IPS officers too joined the saffron camp. The induction ceremony was held at State BJP headquarter and was attended by Chief Minister Raghubar Das, State BJP president Laxman Gilua, State BJP election co in-charge Nand Kishore Yadav, Hazaribagh MP and former union minister of State Jayant Sinha apart from other senior BJP leaders.

State BJP president Laxman Gilua welcoming the leaders and ex- bureaucrats said, “With the joining of these leaders who are influential in their respective areas the party can now easily achieve the target of mission 65 plus in Assembly election.”

For MLA Kunal Sarangi said, it was just like home coming as his father Dinesh Sarangi was State’s first Health Minister and BJP MLA from Baharagora. After that, he said – JMM is now, not a party, it becomes a private limited company. After this he openly worked for BJP in the Lok Sabha elections.

The ex-bureaucrats and former IPS officers too joined the saffron camp included former DGP, DK Pandey, former IG Arun Oraon, who is the husband of former education minister Geetashree Oraon and son in-law of stalwart tribal leader Kartik Oroan, Suchitra Sinha who took VRS to join BJP, RP Sinha, Bajranji Yadav and others, sources said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *