IIT-ISM introduces “Jaswant Singh Gill Memorial Industrial Safety Excellence Award”

Dhanbad: IIT-ISM Dhanbad instituted “Jaswant Singh Gill Memorial Industrial Safety Excellence Award” aimed to promote innovative technology development and application under Atma Nirbhar Bharat Abhiyaan for improving safety standards in Indian Industry.

In recognition of the Late Jaswant Singh Gill, his exemplary presence of mind and courage in saving the lives of miners in the Mining Industry ISM instituted the award for Indian citizens, one award per year with effect from 2020, informed an ISM Media Network official.

The main objective of the awards is to give due recognition to an individual or a group who has made a significant contribution towards the development of indigenous innovative processes and technologies for the improvement in Industrial Safety in India, he said.

Late Jaswant Sing Gill, an alumnus of the 1965 batch of IIT (ISM) Dhanbad, was a Braveheart Mining Engineer, who saved the lives of 65 trapped miners due to inundation in the underground mine of Mahavir Colliery at Eastern Coalfields Limited on 13 November 1989.

Gill designed a 2.5 m slim steel rescue capsule to pull the trapped miners out within a short period through a well-drilled precisely connecting the underground location of trapped miners from the surface.

As the additional chief engineer of the mine, Gill volunteered himself to bring the miners back and went inside the inundated mine through a drilled well and rescued the trapped miners in very adverse conditions.

Late Jaswant Singh Gill was a recipient of Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak by the President of India in 1991. He was also honoured with a lifetime achievement award from Coal India Limited, informed the official.

Criteria for Nomination are (1) Development of an indigenous innovative process or indigenous technology for improving safety at the workplace to achieve zero-accident potential in the Indian Industry. (2) The innovative process/technology development should be supported with layout/drawing and technical details. (3) Safety track record of the Industry for at least two years post-implementation of process/technology. (4)       At least one testimonial from the industry highlighting the application of the innovative process/technology in meeting the objective of zero accident potential, informed the official.

The nominations shall be invited online through the IRAA portal/email from the head of the industry having an exhaustive knowledge of the nominee’s accomplishments. Self-nomination through the proper channel can also be accepted.

The nomination process will start, preferably by October first week, and the selection process will be over by January 1st week. The award will be conferred on the occasion of Basant (1st Sunday of February), the annual reunion of IIT (ISM) Alumni.

Nominations shall be shortlisted by a Screening Committee (SC) constituted with the approval of the Director, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad. Shortlisted submissions shall be peer-reviewed by the Standing Committee may be comprised of Director, IIT (ISM): Chairman; Dean (R&D): Member; Dean (IRAA): Member; President, ISMAANA: Member; Two Alumni from Industries nominated by the Director, IIT (ISM)]: Member and Assoc. Dean (AA): Member Secretary.

The Standing Committee will select the recipient(s) for Jaswant Singh Gill Memorial Industrial Safety Excellence Award, said the official.

The award comprises a plaque, citation, and a prize worth of Rs 50 thousand; the award money and other expenditure such as TA/DA for the awardee, cost of the plaque, etc. will be booked from the Annual Alumni Reunion (Basant) and Sponsorship Fund/ Internal Resource Generation of the Institute/Endowment.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *