JMM, Congress wins by-poll, retain Dumka & Bermo Assembly seats in Jharkhand

Ranchi: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress won the assembly by-poll in Jharkhand; retained Dumka and Bermo assembly seats.

The JMM candidate Basant Soren defeated the BJP’s Lois Marandi in Dumka with around a margin of 6842 votes. While Kumar Jaimangal (Anup Singh) of Indian National Congress defeated Yogeshwar Mahto ‘Batul’ in Bermo assembly seat by 14225 votes.

The by-elections in Jharkhand were necessitated after Hemant Soren vacated Dumka’s seat to retain his Barhait constituency. Soren contested the last assembly election on two seats and recorded victory on both seats.

Meanwhile, Bermo’s seat got vacant after Rajendra Singh the sitting MLA, died due to health issues.

Notably, Basant Soren is the younger brother of Chief Minister Hemant Soren, won the Dumka seat by more than 6500 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *