Nitish Kumar sworn-in as Bihar’s CM for the 9th time in BJP-JD (U) alliance

Patna: On Sunday, Nitish Kumar once again took the oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar in a grand ceremony held at the Rajendra Mandap within Raj Bhavan. This marks Nitish Kumar’s ninth term as Chief Minister, solidifying his long-standing presence in the state’s political arena.

During the oath-taking ceremony, Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar administered the oath of office and secrecy to Nitish Kumar, officially reinstating him as the Chief Minister of Bihar. The event symbolises the return of the NDA (National Democratic Alliance) government to power in Bihar.

In the newly formed government, Samrat Chaudhary from the BJP has been appointed as Deputy Chief Minister, and Vijay Kumar Sinha has assumed the role of Deputy Chief Minister.

A total of nine ministers, including the Chief Minister, have taken their oaths of office during the ceremony. From the BJP’s side, three ministers, including two Deputy Chief Ministers, have been appointed. JD (U) holds the positions of Chief Minister and three ministers. Additionally, one legislator from HAM (Hindustani Awam Morcha) and an independent legislator have been included in the cabinet.

The BJP’s National President, JP Nadda, graced the occasion with his presence.

Prior to this, Nitish Kumar had submitted his resignation as Chief Minister to Raj Bhavan on Sunday morning, leading to the dissolution of the Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance) government. Subsequently, Nitish Kumar presented his claim to form a new government, backed by the BJP and the Hindustani Awam Morcha, to the Governor, thereby ensuring the NDA’s return to power in the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *