Nitish Kr. to reassume as Bihar CM in BJP-JD (U) coalition this evening

RNS I Patna: The stage is set for the swearing-in ceremony of the newly formed JD (U)-BJP coalition government, scheduled to take place at Raj Bhavan in Patna this evening. Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the leader of the NDA Legislative Party in Bihar, Nitish Kumar, at 5 pm. Additionally, two other ministers are expected to take their oaths alongside Kumar.

Earlier today, Nitish Kumar presented the letter of support from MLAs of his party, the BJP, and the Hindustani Awam Morcha to the Governor. He asserted his claim to establish a new BJP-JD (U) government in collaboration with senior BJP leaders and their allies.

Political events unfolded swiftly in the state, commencing with JD (U) President Nitish Kumar’s resignation as Chief Minister following his meeting with Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar in the morning. Kumar also recommended the dissolution of the current government, paving the way for a fresh BJP-JD(U) alliance in the state.

Addressing the media in Patna after his resignation, JD (U) President Nitish Kumar expressed his concerns about the Grand Alliance with the RJD, stating that not everything was running smoothly.

The BJP National President, JP Nadda, is expected to be in attendance during the swearing-in ceremony. Earlier today, a pivotal meeting of the BJP was held at the party office in Patna, where BJP MLAs unanimously adopted a resolution to establish the NDA government in the state, comprising the BJP, JD (U), and the Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular).

Vinod Tawde, the BJP’s Bihar in-charge, announced that Samrat Chaudhary had been elected as the Leader of the Legislative Party, while Vijay Kumar Sinha would serve as the Deputy Leader.

Notably, this will mark the ninth occasion that JD (U) President Nitish Kumar has been sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state. Sources indicate that initially, the cabinet is likely to be of in size, with plans for future expansion.

Nitish Kumar enjoys the support of 128 members of the legislative assembly, including 78 from the BJP and 45 from JD (U). Four members of the Hindustani Awam Morcha and one independent legislator are also backing the Nitish Kumar-led government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *