Droupadi Murmu wins presidential election

#First tribal woman and the youngest President to hold the post

RNS: Droupadi Murmu has been elected as India’s 15th President. Returning Officer for the Presidential Election and Rajya Sabha Secretary General P C Mody, announced Murmu’s election last evening after the votes were counted.

Murmu got 64 per cent of the votes in the poll and opposition Candidate Yashwant Sinha got 36 per cent. The Secretary-General said, of the four thousand seven hundred 54 valid electors, Murmu got the votes of two thousand 824 lawmakers including 540 MPs and the value of the vote is Six lakh 76 thousand 803, he informed.

Meanwhile, Sinha got the votes of One thousand eight hundred 77 lawmakers including 208 MPs and the value of the vote is three lakh 80 thousand 177. Later, the returning officer rushed to Murmu’s residence and handed over the certificate to her.

Murmu is the first tribal woman and the second woman to hold the position of President of India. Chief Justice of India, Justice N V Ramana will administer the oath of office to Murmu on Monday at the Central Hall of Parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *