IIM holds S. N. Sinha Memorial Materials & Metallurgy Event

RNS: The Indian Institute of Metals (IIM), Jamshedpur Chapter, organized the 10th “Professor S.N. Sinha Memorial Materials and Metallurgy Event 2022 (SNSM3E-2022)” for standard XI and XII students of Jamshedpur at the Auditorium of CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory, Jamshedpur.

In addition to 16 participating schools with 31 teams comprising 62 students, 20 Teachers, and many dignitaries from Tata Steel and CSIR- NML attended the function. The Chief Guest, Prof. Ashok Kumar, Head, Metallurgy & Materials Engineering, National Institute of Technology (NIT) Jamshedpur formally inaugurated the programme.

The event is dedicated to the memory of Late Professor S.N. Sinha, an eminent educationist and past president of the IIM Jamshedpur Chapter.

Professor Sinha has played a great role and contributed in building the students fraternity in Metallurgy as Head of Metallurgy Department of National Institute of Technology (NIT) Jamshedpur, as well as Director of National Institute of Foundry and Forge Technology (NIFFT), Ranchi. He was a teacher of eminence and will always be remembered as an inspiration for student communities.

The programme started with a floral tribute to Late Prof. Sinha by Prof. Ashok Kumar, Head, Metallurgy & Materials Engineering, NIT- Jamshedpur, Dr. Indranil Chattoraj, Director, CSIR-NML, Prof. (Mrs). Gayatri Sinha, wife of late Prof. S.N. Sinha, Dr. A.N. Bhagat, Chairman, IIM Jamshedpur and Dr. Chiradeep Ghosh, Secretary, IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter. Dr. A.N. Bhagat, Chairman, IIM Jamshedpur chapter welcomed the gathering.

Guest of Honour, Gayatri Sinha motivated the students and thanked the organizers for conducting successfully this programme for last 10 years. Prof. Ashok Kumar delivered a lecture on “Introduction to Materials for Students” which was well appreciated by the audience. Prof. Ashok Kumar talked about present materials and advanced materials for advanced use and how the advanced materials can be selected. Finally how the interest in new materials can be developed in School students.

The quiz contest began immediately after the inaugural programme. The emcee Anushri Nag read out the rules of the contest before the competition actually started.

The two winning teams will get opportunities to participate in Professor Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials Quiz – 2022 to be held at Kalpakkam on September 9-10, 2022.

Over the years, this competition has attracted appreciation from educationalists, researchers & industrialists and is considered a prestigious annual event of the Kalpakkam Chapter and the IIM. The National Level “Prof. Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials quiz” has gained wide popularity within the student community. This program was initiated as an effort to create awareness among the students about the role of materials science and metallurgy in industrial and technological developments. In the year 1993, this event was named after Prof. Brahm Prakash, an eminent metallurgist of India.

Dr. Chiradeep Ghosh, Secretary of the IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter proposed the vote of thanks. He also thanked Director, NML and all organising committee members for their hard work in successfully completing the online event.

The participated schools were as follows: J.H. Tarapore School, Dhatkidih, Jamshedpur; Atomic Energy Central School, Jadugoda; D.B.M.S English School; Baldwin Farm Area High School; Narbheram Hansraj English School; NML Kerala Public School; Mount Litera Zee School Jamshedpur; Little Flower, Jamshedpur; Loyola School; Kerala Public School Kadma; Vig English School; Rajendra Vidyalaya; SDSM School for Excellence; Vidya Bharati Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Telco.

After a series of interesting rounds, Om Bhardwaj and A. Ananthakrishnan from Vidya Bharati Chinmaya were declared champions. Sarothak Ghosh and Madhan Varshney from Loyola School got second prize while Amisha Sinha and Ishani Dasgupta from Loyola School got third prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *