AAP wins Jalandhar Lok Sabha by-poll

RNS: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won the Jalandhar Lok Sabha by-election in Punjab. Sushil Kumar Rinku of the AAP defeated Congress candidate Karamjit Kaur by a margin of 58,647 votes.

Sukhwinder Sukhi, the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bahujan Samaj Party (SAD-BJP) candidate, received only 1,58,354 votes, while the BJP finished fourth with 1,34,706 votes.

Notably, the Lok Sabha seat became vacant following the death of Congress MP Santokh Singh Chaudhary, who died of heart arrest during Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra in January of this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *