Bangladesh PM, Sri Lanka President & other foreign leaders to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

New Delhi: Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina are among the foreign leaders expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony of BJP leader Narendra Modi as he assumes office for a third consecutive term.

The ceremony is anticipated to take place at 8 p.m. on June 8.

Additionally, the premiers of Bhutan, Nepal, and Mauritius are also likely to be invited to the event.

Narendra Modi’s re-election has garnered congratulations from over 95 heads of state, including Russian President Vladimir Putin, UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, and US President Joe Biden.

Securing an unprecedented third term, Modi’s BJP, with the support of its allies, fell short of an absolute majority, obtaining 240 seats. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) as a whole secured 293 seats, allowing them to govern but making them vulnerable to regional parties like the TDP and JDU.

This outcome has revived the INDIA opposition bloc, led by Congress, which secured 234 seats, including 99 by Congress alone.

Despite the NDA’s victory, the INDIA Bloc is celebrating its unexpectedly strong performance, as some exit polls predicting a clear majority for Modi were proven incorrect. The opposition, underestimated by many analysts and polls, mounted a formidable challenge, resulting in a vibrant political landscape as Modi prepares to return to office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *