Kharge to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony; Rahul, TMC likely to give it a miss

# Sri Lanka President, Maldivian President, Seychellois Vice-President, PM Bangladesh, Mauritius Prime Minister, Nepal PM, and Bhutanese Prime Minister will grace the ceremony.


New Delhi: Congress President and key member of the INDIA Bloc, Mallikarjun Kharge, will be attending Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan today.

The Congress party said in a statement that Kharge, in his capacity as Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Rajya Sabha, will be present at the oath-taking ceremony of Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi. This decision was made after consultations with several INDIA bloc leaders yesterday.

However, sources have indicated that Rahul Gandhi and representatives from the Trinamool Congress will not be attending the ceremony.

Scheduled for 7:15 PM today, the ceremony will be graced by various national and international leaders and dignitaries.

Notable attendees include Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldivian President Dr. Mohamed Muizzu, Seychellois Vice-President Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda,’ and Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay.

President Mohamed Muizzu of the Maldives and Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth of Mauritius arrived in New Delhi earlier today. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina of Bangladesh and Vice-President Ahmed Afif of Seychelles also had arrived yesterday, while Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay landed in the national capital for the ceremony.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

In light of the event, Delhi Police have implemented stringent security measures. The flying of sub-conventional aerial platforms, including paragliders, paramotors, hang gliders, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), and hot air balloons, has been prohibited over Delhi.

This ban will remain in place on the 9th and 10th of June, sources said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *