Om Birla Defeats K Suresh, Re-Elected as Lok Sabha Speaker

New Delhi: BJP MP Om Birla has been re-elected as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha through a voice vote. The opposition, which had nominated Congress MP K. Suresh for the position, chose not to press for a division vote.

Following his election, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Leader of Opposition Rahul Gandhi, and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju accompanied Birla to the Speaker’s chair.

The session began with Prime Minister Modi and 12 other NDA leaders moving the motion to elect Birla. On the opposition side, Shiv Sena (UBT) leader Arvind Sawant, Supriya Sule of the NCP (Sharad Pawar), and Anand Bhadauria of the SP supported the motion for Suresh.

In his congratulatory message, Prime Minister Modi remarked, “History is being made today with the re-election of Om Birla for the second time.” He expressed anticipation for Birla’s guidance over the next five years, highlighting Birla’s exemplary work as a parliamentarian as a source of inspiration for new members.

Modi also noted that the previous Lok Sabha, under Birla’s leadership, passed several significant legislations and achieved a record productivity of 97%.

Leader of Opposition Rahul Gandhi also extended his congratulations, affirming that the Lok Sabha represents the voice of the people. He assured Birla of the opposition’s support for the smooth functioning of the House, emphasizing that cooperation is built on trust and that the voices of the opposition should be heard.

Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav expressed confidence that the opposition would be given ample opportunity to voice their concerns. He emphasized that impartiality is crucial for a Speaker, hoping for balanced respect towards both the Treasury and opposition benches.

TMC MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay brought attention to the suspension of opposition MPs in the 17th Lok Sabha, stressing that legislation should be passed following thorough discussions in the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *