EC announces assembly polls schedule for Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand, UP

RNS: Assembly polls schedule for Goa, Punjab, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh has been announced on Saturday. With the announcement of the poll schedule by the Election Commission, the Model Code of Conduct has come into effect.

Announcing the poll schedules, Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra said Uttar Pradesh would go to the polls in seven phases from 10th February to 7th March. Voting for Punjab, Uttarakhand and Goa will be held on 14th of February in a single phase. Manipur will vote on 27th February and 3rd March in two phases. Counting of votes will be held on 10th of March. A total of 690 Assembly constituencies in Goa, Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Punjab will go to polls this time.

No roadshows, foot march (padyatras), cycle or bike rallies and processions shall be allowed till 15th January.

Election Commission will review the situation and issues further instructions accordingly. Political parties have been advised to conduct their campaign through digital mode as much as possible. A maximum of five persons to be allowed for door-to-door election campaigns by candidates.

Notably, the term of Goa Legislative Assembly is ending on 15th March this year, Manipur Assembly on 19th March, Uttarakhand and Punjab Legislative Assembly on 23rd March and Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly on 14th May this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *