LS Poll 5th Phase: Polling Underway In 49 Constituencies, Over 6 States, 2 UTs

RNS: Today marks the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha Election 2024, with voting taking place in 49 constituencies across six states and two Union Territories. The states involved in this phase include Uttar Pradesh (14 seats), Maharashtra (13 seats), West Bengal (7 seats), Odisha (5 seats), Bihar (5 seats), and Jharkhand (3 seats). Additionally, voters in Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh are casting their ballots for one seat each.

Alongside the Lok Sabha elections, 35 Assembly Constituencies in the Odisha Legislative Assembly are also holding their elections today. To ensure smooth and transparent polling, the Election Commission has deployed over 947,000 polling officials across 94,732 polling stations.

Polling stations are equipped with basic facilities including ample shade, drinking water, ramps, toilets, wheelchairs, and electricity to accommodate all voters, including the elderly and persons with disabilities. The Chief Electoral Officers, District Election Officers, and state machinery have been instructed to take adequate measures to manage hot weather conditions in areas where it is forecasted.

The Election Commission’s arrangements aim to provide a comfortable voting experience for every citizen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *